The Potter Burnett Law Pride continues to grow with the addition of our newest law clerk, Alexa.

 

Alexa attended Frostburg State University in western Maryland where she received her Bachelor’s Degree in Biology for Pre-Veterinary Medicine. Currently, Alexa is a 3L at the University of Baltimore Law School.

 

Learn more about Alexa, her background, and her passion for law by reading our Q&A below.

 

Why did you decide to go to law school?

I enjoy a challenge, and law school seemed like the perfect choice for that. I spent years working towards Vet school, and it just wasn’t for me. I’m super happy with my decision to pursue a law degree.

 

Can you tell us a little bit about your previous work experience? Was it in the legal field?

I’ve been an Emergency Veterinary Technician for over 7 years with various clinics in Maryland, and this was how I originally funded my education. I’ve also worked with the Office of the Public Defender Parental Defense Division where I gained a lot of helpful experience.

 

Why did you decide to pursue this position specifically with Potter Burnett Law?

Our school always recommended the use of the job search forum that they provide access to. One day I stumbled across PBL and did some research. The fact that the attorneys were alum for my school was what sold the deal. I’ve now had the pleasure of surrounding myself with a firm full of successful and passionate attorneys.

 

Describe a typical day on the job.

My day typically involves reading medical records, drafting discovery documents, researching various topics, and observing various proceedings.

 

What is the most rewarding thing about your job so far?

The ability to learn from successful attorneys. I came into law school with zero law experience, and I’ve already learned more in the last few weeks than I could have ever imagined. They are knowledgeable, willing to teach, patient, and just fun to be around. I enjoy going to work every week and seeing what the day has to offer.

 

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

I work out regularly, both for physical and mental health. I enjoy biking local trails when weather permits and really just doing anything outside. I also like to binge Netflix shows, paint, read, and spend time with my family, cats, and boyfriend.